Healthcare in the USA is smoother and better equipped because of the availability of nurses and the services they provide. Nurses have always strived to improve at their job for the patients, and their work speaks for it.
On-duty nurses always have a valid license that shows how long they have been working or their specialization (if any). License acquiring procedures in each state are somewhat different from the other.
In Minnesota, licensure for nurses is taken care of by the Minnesota Board Of Nursing. The Board regulates all three types of nurses working in the state- Registered Nurse (RN), Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN).
A nurse can easily make the application online via the official website of the Minnesota Board of Nursing. The process can be completed by paying the required license fees, which can be $105 or $85 depending on licensing by examination or renewal. After this, you can get your license within a given period.
Requirements for Renewing of Nursing License in Minnesota
The Minnesota Board of Nursing has a few requirements for their license renewal process. Every time a nursing license needs to be renewed; one has to take care of the following:
- Nurses need to verify their licenses first. On the online verification page of The Minnesota Board Of Nursing, they can fill in the details and the type of license information to confirm the license.
- Next, nurses must ensure they have completed their continuing education (CE) requirements before their license expires. This can be easily completed online within the working schedule, absolutely free of cost.
- Apply for the renewal via the official website of the Board. There are specific fees required for a renewal application that may be subject to change. Currently, a renewal application requires you to pay $88 as fees.
The same process applies to all the nursing license types- Registered Nurse (RN), Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN).
Renewing a license is as essential as obtaining one in the healthcare industry. A nursing license in Minnesota is valid for up to 2 years and expires each time a day before the nurse’s birthday.
Proper documents and an active license are very important for working professionals in the healthcare sector. Working with an expired license or false documents can lead to fines or suspension.
read more: Guide to a Nurse Salary in Minnesota
How to apply for a Minnesota nursing license?
There are different processes to apply for a nursing license in Minnesota. Depending on whether one is a first-time nurse or a transfer from another state, they can apply for a license either by endorsement or examination.
First-time nurses will need to apply for their license via examination, and this requires them to pay $200 for the NCLEX examination fees. After passing the exam, they must apply for their license via the official website.
Application fees are $105 for both RN and LPN nursing licenses. Along with this, The Minnesota Board Of Nursing mandates background checks on each applicant. Criminal background check fees are $33.25 currently and must be paid during the time of application.
How to transfer my nursing license to Minnesota?
For nurses that are transferring to Minnesota, they have to apply for a Minnesota nursing license via endorsement. This means that the applicant has already worked as a registered nurse in a different state in the US.
For an application via endorsement, a nurse needs to apply via the official website of The Minnesota Board Of Nursing. The application fee for endorsement is around $105. Transfer nurses also require background checks before obtaining their nursing license in Minnesota.
Background check fees for application via endorsement can be $33.25, the same as the background check fee for a first-time nursing license application.
Criminal background checks are important as they rule out the possibility of a patient being taken care of in the hands of a possibly dangerous person. Also, background checks ensure that a nurse has made no major mistakes in the past while taking care of a patient and that they can be trusted with their work.
What are the continuing education requirements for nurses in the state of Minnesota?
Minnesota state has specific continuing education requirements for the different nursing categories.
For a Registered Nurse (RN), the state requires them to have at least 24 contact hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. Roughly, that is one hour every month.
For a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), 12 contact hours of continuing education (CE) are required for obtaining a license renewal. That roughly translates to one hour for every two months of registration. For an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN), 24 contact hours of continuing education (CE) are required for license renewal.
These courses can be completed from Incredible Health, which has ANCC-accredited courses valid in all 50 states.