Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, or LARA, is the state’s licensing agency for health professionals. It regulates physician, dentist, and pharmacist licenses. There are many resources for healthcare professionals in Michigan, but none are as comprehensive as the Michigan Board of Medicine. Luckily, there are several ways to look up a doctor’s license online. These resources include a license lookup and renewal search, CME requirements, and reporting convictions.
Physicians in Michigan must maintain a minimum of 150 hours of continuing medical education (CME) credits per license cycle. Residents and medical school faculty are not exempt from this requirement but are required to keep records for four years after they renew their license. Of this total, 75 hours must be Category 1 credits for MDs and 60 hours for DOs. Physicians can earn CME credits on a variety of topics, including pain management.
Applicants must obtain an official transcript from the school they graduated from. These transcripts may be ordered from the University Registrar’s website. It is best to wait until you receive your diploma or degree before forwarding it to the Board of Medicine. A certification of appointment to a Michigan training program is also required. In addition to these requirements, applicants must complete a background check. In addition to meeting the medical school requirements, the board also requires a thorough background check of the applicants.
Health Professionals Recovery Act
New legislation called the Health Professionals Recovery Act (HPRA) might increase the number of investigations and sanctions. Recent legislation aimed at eliminating the powers of disciplinary subcommittees and giving them full control over investigations under the Public Health Code may increase the number of investigations. As a result, licensed health professionals are at greater risk for sanction under these new laws. However, there is no evidence to indicate that new laws are a permanent solution.
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (MDHRA) has recently announced two new courses for physicians. One of these courses is an opioid awareness training, and the other is a controlled substance education course. The training is separate from continuing education and must be completed before licensees renew their licenses in 2019. Physicians must also complete a one-time human trafficking training course. After completing this training, they must also pass the national exam.
As a physician, you should be aware of the Michigan Board of Medicine’s continuing medical education (CME) requirements. These mandate that physicians earn at least 150 hours of CME per three-year licensure cycle. To keep your license up to date, you need to complete at least one course in Medical Ethics each year and three hours of CME in Pain and Symptom Management. The deadline for completing CME is January 31 every year. The state also has no exemptions for resident physicians or medical school faculty.
- To apply, you need to have a medical degree and a minimum of four years of postgraduate clinical training under a licensed physician.
- You must fill out an online application form and follow all the instructions thoroughly.
- When filling out the application form, you must attach the necessary documents depending on the answers you provide.
- The board will send you an Application Confirmation email to confirm that your information has been received.
- The board also requires you to complete a Criminal Background Check.
- Lastly, you need to complete a Certification of Medical Education form that you should email directly to the board.
Depending on the specialty, DOs must also complete CME courses that meet certain criteria. In addition to taking continuing medical education, physicians must complete training in identifying child and dependent adult abuse and end-of-life care. Additionally, physicians must obtain a minimum of 40 AMA PRA Category I or AMA PRA Category 1 ™ credits every two years to renew their license. Lastly, physicians must complete suicide prevention and treatment training every four years.
A licensee should take a multi-media self-assessment program to meet these CME requirements. During this program, a licensee must improve his knowledge and skills of practice by attending 50 percent of its regularly scheduled meetings. Each program requires different CME hours. In addition, a licensee can earn up to eighteen hours of CME credit for presenting a conference article or participating in a continuing medical organization.
Reporting of convictions
A conviction may delay a professional’s license renewal in Michigan. A conviction can occur if a professional has multiple state licenses, has a residency in another state, or if they’re a traveling professional with licenses in several states. Each state has different reporting requirements. In Michigan, for example, a physician must report certain convictions within 35 days.
While a conviction can have an adverse impact on license renewal, it can also be helpful for re-credentialing by certain entities. It shows the board that practitioners are open about their convictions and are moral people. For additional help in navigating a conviction and the licensing process, consider consulting an attorney with experience in healthcare licensing. They may be able to provide evidence and a mitigation strategy for your case.
A criminal conviction may prevent a physician from working in a healthcare facility, and penalties for convictions may include fines, license probation, or revocation. Criminal convictions can negatively affect your career, but they can also result in disciplinary action such as license suspension and revocation. So it’s important to report all convictions, no matter how minor.
Renewing a license
- The first step in renewing a license for the Michigan Board of Medical Examiners is to fill out the online application.
- You must be a medical professional or have practiced under a licensed professional.
- You must carefully read the application form and attach all required documents.
- The types of documents required will depend on your answers. If you have completed the application, you will receive an Application Confirmation letter.
- You will also receive instructions for the Criminal Background Check.
- In addition, you must fill out a Certification of Medical Education form, which should be sent directly to the board from the medical school you attended.
It is important to renew your license before the expiration date. Under the Public Health Code, licensed health professionals must renew their licenses on time. Failure to renew a license on time or to notify the Board of Medicine of any change in the address does not excuse you from doing so. In addition, you must report any change in address to LARA as soon as possible. Then, you must renew your license before the expiration date to prevent any penalties.
After completing the application, the board will review your application and determine if it qualifies for renewal. Applicants may contact the Board staff by phone or in-person during business hours to discuss the renewal process. If your application is approved, you will receive a renewal notice by email and instructions on how to print a new Certificate of Registration. You will be reminded to review your licensure information on file during the renewal process. If you decide to renew, you can print a new Certificate of Registration by logging into Applicant/Licensee Services and completing the renewal process.
Continuing education requirements vary. You must take at least one continuing education course every two years. A 30-hour course requires at least 20 hours of CME credit. You can earn up to 20 hours of CME if you participate in a committee of some kind. You cannot earn credit for a lecture you gave more than three years ago. You may also earn CME credit for presenting at a conference.